我们可以

捲軸

我们可以

抬起头来

思考者。

艺术家。

竞争者。

领导人。

HIGHLANDERS.

返回LHPS.ORG

波特家族创新与学术中心破土动工

取代Johnston和Hale大厅的变革性新设施将开始施工

波特家族创新与学术中心的破土仪式
左起。Balfour Beatty建筑公司的Scott Skidelsky;受托人和建筑委员会成员Brooke Myers;董事会主席Jeff Deery;Kia和Manny Vivar及家人;Emily和Leman Porter及家人;LHP机器人公司与Vishal Shah合作建造的机器人;Brian Tillman家人;LHP公司总裁Al Harms副将军;Ekta Desai,SchenkelShultz建筑公司;高中部主任Derek Daly

2022年4月5日星期二,高地湖预备学校为新的波特家庭创新和学术中心举行了破土仪式。这座由SchenkelShultz建筑事务所设计的变革性的四层设施将为高地人提供71000平方英尺的特殊空间来学习、协作和创造。总承包商Balfour Beatty将在本月晚些时候开始为期14个月的施工过程,预计将在2023-24学年开始时开放。波特家庭中心将取代约翰斯顿和黑尔大厅,这两座大厅将继续为我们的高中部提供服务,直到新楼的建设完成。

在破土动工仪式上,主要捐赠人莱曼-波特激励来宾,他说:"通过我们对提升高地人运动的捐赠,我们正在用钢铁和石头铸造基础,以确保一个更好的美国和一个更美好的未来。我要求你们利用我们今天在这里开始的工作,成为使我们的未来更美好的大使。鼓励其他人像你们一样,成为投资于我们的孩子的拥护者,并继续借给我们的遗产"。

波特家庭中心将扩大LHP在STEM教育方面的全国声誉,并将成为合作、创新和学术成就的校园中心。二楼的创新学院有一个两层的创客空间,周围有物理学、工程学、机器人学、计算机科学、增强和虚拟现实等教学实验室。波特家庭中心的三楼是专门的数学教室;四楼是英语和语言艺术。底层是一个学院式的学生中心,有学生会、图书馆、学生活动中心和健康诊所。底层还将包括一个行政中心,用于大学咨询、学术辅导和行政办公室。

LHP总裁阿尔-哈姆斯对那些早期为该活动提供领导性捐款的人表示感谢。"波特家族为命名波特家族创新与学术中心所做的巨额捐赠,在今天的时代尤其重要。波特家族和其他几十个家庭在全球大流行病期间慷慨地站出来,帮助我们为我们的学生实现一个大胆而令人兴奋的梦想。他们投资于这一愿景的慈善决定传达了他们对这一设施将为我们杰出的教师和我们有才华、有动力、有创新精神的学生带来的变革力量的信心。"

"我们深深地感谢波特家族、蒂尔曼家族、维瓦尔家族,以及我们今天庆祝的所有领导捐赠者,"推进部副部长苏珊-克莱顿分享道。"他们使这个破土动工成为可能!我们也知道,我们可以依靠我们的合作伙伴。我们也知道,我们可以依靠我们的整个高地人家庭来继续这些慈善领袖已经开始的工作--慷慨解囊,为高地人建立一个大胆、创新的未来。"

提升高地人运动包括三个资本项目--(1)波特家庭创新和学术中心;(2)高地湖体育中心的多运动设施和场地翻新;以及(3)艺术区--同时增加高地湖的捐赠资金。

波特家族
莱曼-波特
哈姆斯副海军上将

我们邀请你了解更多关于 "提升高地人运动 "的信息,以及你如何能够发挥影响。请联系我们推广团队的成员,了解更多信息,包括可用的命名机会。

波特家庭创新与学术中心
设计可能会有变化

我们邀请您了解更多关于提升高地人的信息

苏珊-克莱顿

推广部副总裁
sclayton@lhps.org
407.206.1900转3345

妮可-杰贝利

新闻和更新

探索 "提升高地 "运动的新闻和更新。

2022年11月4日

2022年11月4日,我们的高地人家庭聚集在一起参加 "封顶 "庆祝活动,这标志着新的波特家庭创新与学术中心建设的一个重要里程碑,即最高的结构梁被放置在建筑物的顶部。在封顶仪式上,高地人被邀请在横梁上签名,成为[...]的一部分。

2022年11月2日

我们怀着极大的感激之情,宣布艾米和杰伊-杰克逊向 "提升高地人 "运动捐赠100万美元。

2022年4月7日

2022年4月5日星期二,海兰湖预科学校为新的波特家庭创新与学术中心举行了破土仪式。

2022年2月7日

我们怀着激动和感激的心情宣布,Kia和Manny Vivar向 "携手共进 "运动捐赠了100万美元。提升高地人运动。

2021年12月1日

在一个教育机构的生活中,具有纪念意义的事件是罕见的,但我们很高兴地宣布这样一个事件,它将提升LHP教育的地位,使其世代相传。

2021年9月16日

我们怀着深深的感激之情,宣布布莱恩-蒂尔曼家族向高地湖的 "携手共进 "活动捐赠100万美元。提升高地人运动,来自布莱恩-蒂尔曼家族。

TOGETHER WE CAN

Scroll

TOGETHER WE CAN

ELEVATE

THINKERS.

ARTISTS.

COMPETITORS.

LEADERS.

HIGHLANDERS.

BACK TO LHPS.ORG

Breaking Ground for the Porter Family Center for Innovation & Academics

Construction to Begin on Transformational New Facility that will Replace Johnston and Hale Halls

Ceremonial Groundbreaking for the Porter Family Center for Innovation & Academics
From Left: Scott Skidelsky, Balfour Beatty Construction; Brooke Myers, Trustee and Building Committee Member; Jeff Deery, Chairman of the Board; Kia and Manny Vivar and family; Emily and Leman Porter and family; Robot built by LHP Robotics with Vishal Shah; the Brian Tillman family; Vice Admiral Al Harms, President of LHP; Ekta Desai, SchenkelShultz Architecture; Derek Daly, Director of Upper School

On Tuesday, April 5, 2022, Lake Highland Preparatory School hosted a ceremonial groundbreaking for the new Porter Family Center for Innovation & Academics. Designed by SchenkelShultz Architecture, this transformational, four-story facility will offer 71,000 square feet of exceptional spaces for Highlanders to learn, collaborate, and create. General contractor Balfour Beatty will begin the 14-month construction process later this month, with a projected opening at the beginning of the 2023-24 school year. The Porter Family Center will replace Johnston and Hale Halls, which will continue to serve our Upper School until construction of the new building is complete.

At the groundbreaking, lead donor Leman Porter inspired guests, sharing, “Through our gift to the Elevate Highlanders campaign, we are forging in steel and stone the foundation to ensure a better America and a better future for generations to come. I ask you to take what we have started here today and be ambassadors in making our future better. Encourage others to do what you have done, to be champions of investing in our children, and to continue the legacy loaned to us.”

The Porter Family Center will expand LHP’s national reputation in STEM education and will be the campus centerpiece for collaboration, innovation, and academic achievement. The second floor Innovation Institute features a two-story makerspace surrounded by teaching labs for physics, engineering, robotics, computer science, augmented and virtual reality, and more. The Porter Family Center’s third floor is dedicated to math classrooms; the fourth floor houses English and language arts. The ground floor features a collegiate-style student center with a student union, library, student activity center, and health clinic. The ground floor will also include an administrative center for college advising, academic counseling, and administrative offices.

LHP President Al Harms expressed gratitude to those who have made early, leadership contributions to the campaign. “The Porters’ magnificent gift to name the Porter Family Center for Innovation & Academics is especially significant in today’s times. The Porters and dozens of other families generously stepped forward during a global pandemic to help us achieve a bold and exciting dream for our students. Their philanthropic decisions to invest in this vision convey their confidence in the transformational power this facility will have for our outstanding faculty and our talented, motivated, and innovative students.”

“We are profoundly grateful to the Porter family, the Tillman family, the Vivar family, and all the leadership donors we celebrated today,” VP of Advancement Susan Clayton shared. “They made this groundbreaking possible! We also know we can count on our entire Highlander family to continue what these philanthropic leaders have begun – to give generously to build a bold, innovative future for Highlanders.”

The Elevate Highlanders Campaign includes three capital projects – (1) Porter Family Center for Innovation & Academics; (2) Multisport Facility and Field Renovation at the Lake Highland Athletic Complex; and (3) The Arts District – along with growing Lake Highland’s endowment.

The Porter Family
Leman Porter
Vice Admiral Harms

We invite you to learn more about the Elevate Highlanders Campaign and how you can make an impact. Please contact a member of our Advancement team for more information, including available naming opportunities.

Porter Family Center for Innovation & Academics
Designs are subject to change

We invite you to learn More about Elevate Highlanders

Susan Clayton

Vice President of Advancement
sclayton@lhps.org
407.206.1900 ext 3345

Nicole JeBailey

NEWS & UPDATES

Explore the news and updates from the Elevate Highlanders Campaign.

April 7, 2022

On Tuesday, April 5, 2022, Lake Highland Preparatory School hosted a ceremonial groundbreaking for the new Porter Family Center for Innovation & Academics.

February 7, 2022

With excitement and gratitude, we announce a $1 million gift from Kia and Manny Vivar to the Together We Can: Elevate Highlanders Campaign.

December 1, 2021

Monumental events are rare in the life of an educational institution, but we are thrilled to announce one such event that will elevate LHP education for generations to come!

September 16, 2021

With profound gratitude, we announce a $1 million gift to Lake Highland’s Together We Can: Elevate Highlanders Campaign from the Brian Tillman family.